Bryn Athyn Set to Host The 2017 NEAC Men's Golf Championships

Bryn Athyn Set to Host The 2017 NEAC Men's Golf Championships

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – Bryn Athyn College will serve as the host for the 2016-17 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men's Golf Championships, which will be held at the Philmont Country Club in Huntingdon Valley, Pa. on Saturday, Apr. 22 and Sunday, Apr. 23.  

Four-time NEAC champion Rutgers University-Camden will be looking to defend its title as the top seed of the 2016-17 tournament with eight other teams in the field attempting to unseat the Scarlet Raptors. The championships will begin with a shotgun start at noon on Saturday and 9 a.m. on Sunday. The winner of the NEAC Championship Tournament will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships, which will take place May 16-19 at Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

The team seeding for the tournament, determined by a variety of factors from match results during the season, will be as follows:

1. Rutgers University-Camden

2. Penn State Berks

3. SUNY Cobleskill

4. Penn State Abington

5. Penn College

6. Morrisville State College

7. Keuka College

8. Bryn Athyn College

9. Wilson College

The conference's annual awards will also be determined from the two-day championships, as three NEAC All-Conference Teams will be comprised of the top-15 finishers from the event. The top five golfers will make up the First Team with the next five making up the Second Team and last five rounding out the Third Team. Additionally, top overall finisher at the championship event will be named the NEAC Golfer of the Year, while the top first-year finisher will be named the NEAC Rookie of the Year. The NEAC Coach of the Year will be decided by a coaches' vote following the conclusion of the event. The conference champion, as well as all the individual award winners, will be recognized at an awards ceremony occurring shortly after the conclusion of the tournament on Sunday afternoon.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D'Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf).  The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men's and women's tennis. For more information, please visit: