Denise Roessler

Denise Roessler

Denise Roessler is going into her sixth season as the head coach of the Bryn Athyn College women’s lacrosse program in 2019. 

In her first five seasons at Bryn Athyn, Roessler has posted 31 victories and led the Lions to a pair of conference tournament appearances.

Last year, Bryn Athyn had an 8-5 record, 7-3 in its first season in the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC). The Lions finished second in the regular-season standings and hosted a conference tournament game for the second straight year. Bryn Athyn had its best offensive season in program history with 184 goals, a record 24 goals coming in a 24-1 win over Centenary on April 20. The Lions placed a conference-high nine players--including three first-team selections--to the All-CSAC team.

The Lions had their most successful season in the program’s six-year history in 2018, going 9-4 overall and setting the record for most wins in a season. Bryn Athyn went 6-3 against the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC), earning the Lions a place in the postseason for the first time in program history. In the conference tournament, the Lions knocked off Wells 17-10 in the first round and went on to lose to Morrisville State in the semifinal. The tournament game against Wells was the Lions' first postseason first game.

The 2017 campaign saw the Lions have a winning record for the first time by going 7-6 overall--a three-win improvement from 2016. Gianna Ciacciarelli and Hannah Bracey were both named to the All-North Eastern Athletic Conference second team.

In the 2016 season, the Lions had four players earn All-NEAC recognition with Sabrina Colbridge, Emma Gross, Bianca Feliciano, and Anja Weisser being selected to the third team. Gross was Bryn Athyn’s first All-NEAC honoree with her selection to the All-NEAC third team in 2015.

Before coming to Bryn Athyn, Roessler had a 16-year run as the head coach at Division I Saint Joseph’s University. During her time on Hawk Hill, Roessler led the Hawks to 89 victories and two Atlantic-10 Tournament appearances.

The Hawks enjoyed their most success under Roessler in the 2009 season. Saint Joseph’s won a then-school record 10 matches and reached the championship match of the A-10 Tournament. In the final, the Hawks were edged out by Massachusetts, 15-14. A program-record four Hawks, including A-10 Defensive Player of the Year Suzy Herlihy, were named to the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association team. Roessler was tabbed the A-10 Coach of the Year.

Saint Joseph’s made its first A-10 Tournament in program history in 2001, Roessler’s third season at the helm. The Hawks won five matches that season. Bernadette Smith was tabbed the A-10 Offensive Player of the Year.

Roessler began her head coaching career in 1998 at Division I La Salle University. She led the Explorers to a 5-9 record in La Salle’s inaugural season.

Before becoming a collegiate coach, Roessler started out as the head junior varsity and assistant varsity field hockey coach at Bishop Eustace Prep. She led Bishop Eustace to an undefeated 10-0-2 record in 1995. She joined the staff of Camden Catholic, her alma mater, as a volunteer assistant lacrosse coach one year later.

On Jan. 7, 2020 Roessler was named the head coach of the German National Women's Lacrosse team. She was an assistant coach for the team since 2016. In the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse Women's Lacrosse World Cup in England, Germany finished in 14th place with a 5-3 record. Germany posted a sixth-place finish at the 2019 European Championship held in Netanya, Israel

A 1995 graduate of Old Dominion, where she earned a bachelor's of science degree in sports medicine, Roessler played women's lacrosse under Sue Stahl, who also served as the United States National Team head women's lacrosse coach from 1989-2005.

Denise Roessler's Coaching Record
Year School Record Pct.
1998 La Salle 5-9 .357
1999 Saint Joseph's 3-11 .214
2000 Saint Joseph's 7-8 .467
2001 Saint Joseph's 5-10 .333
2002 Saint Joseph's 3-10 .231
2003 Saint Joseph's 4-11 .267
2004 Saint Joseph's 8-6 .571
2005 Saint Joseph's 5-10 .333
2006 Saint Joseph's 5-11 .312
2007 Saint Joseph's 7-9 .438
2008 Saint Joseph's 7-9 .438
2009 Saint Joseph's 10-8 .556
2010 Saint Joseph's 2-14 .125
2011 Saint Joseph's 5-11 .312
2012 Saint Joseph's 5-11 .312
2013 Saint Joseph's 8-8 .500
2014 Saint Joseph's 5-11 .312
2015 Bryn Athyn 3-8 .273
2016 Bryn Athyn 4-8 .333
2017 Bryn Athyn 7-6 .538
2018 Bryn Athyn 9-4 .692
2019 Bryn Athyn 8-5 .615
Bryn Athyn (4 years) 31-31 .500
Saint Joseph's (16 years) 89-158 .360
La Salle (1 year) 5-9 .357
Career Record 125-198 .387